Posted by: Elizabeth Anne Mitchell | June 25, 2014

Learning Assessment of Round Two

It was a quiet Round Two for me.  Work was busy, and life kept lobbing curve balls at me.

I learned how to meditate, really, rather than letting the slide show of everything I had to do when I “stopped being quiet” play through my vision.  I learned to let thoughts slide off like rain on a treated windshield before they could gather and form into a thundercloud, casting a shadow over my peace.

In the last several weeks, I’ve added a handful of extremely simple yoga poses to the routine.  After years of not moving because of pain, laziness, or generalized ennui, my body is starting to get ever so slightly more limber.

When I lower the bucket into the well, and no words come up, which has been stunningly often, I have read–nineteen full-length novels in this Round, not counting samples, and  smaller pieces. Karen McFarland put it perfectly when she commented on my last check-in, ” For some reason, my mind is thirsty for words, so I feed it.”  That is where I find myself now. At times, I find the words playing in the shadows, but they disappear when I look right at them, like an optical illusion. I’m not terribly worried yet.  I have the feeling that clutching at them will have the same effect it did when I was an insecure twenty-something, asking for reassurances every minute and a half like a Weimaraner. “Do you still love me?  Okay, umm, how about now? . . . Now?” It’s no surprise I didn’t have a lasting relationship until I was over 30.  I think if I quiet my mind the words will become visible eventually.

Between Rounds, I have to travel for my job over the weekend.  When I return, we are gathering our children, sons-in-law and any grandchildren of their blended families who can come to a rustic farmhouse in the Adirondacks for the week of the 4th.  The priceless nature of time spent with family has been brought home forcibly to me, and I want to encourage the bonds that already exist among the grandchildren and their parents.  It is a close-knit crowd, and I am thankful beyond the stars for it.

I hope you have a peaceful, word-full break, and look forward to catching up with all of you next Round.  Give a last cheer to all those who made it to the finish line here

smaller EM

 

 

 

 

Responses

  1. What great thoughts. We all need to learn to relax more and to be more content with who we are and where we are in our lives. Best wishes to you for a great break.

    • I’m glad you liked them, Chris. It’s only recently that I realized I didn’t have to wait any longer to grow up, but can begin to be the person I want to be. It is then a little easier for me to give up what isn’t possible, and often, isn’t even who I am any more.

  2. Tough for me too. Good luck in the next round. *hugs*

    • *hugs* Ruth. I know it’s been hard for you. I hope that writing helps, and that editing the collaboration will help somewhat as well. You are in my thoughts.

  3. Beautifully put Elizabeth, and I love the idea of the mind being hungry for words – and they do say that one of the only ways to become a better writer is to read, read, read. Have a great break and see you next round 🙂

    • Thank you, Jody. I feel as though I’m starting to be able to spill the words over the lip of the well now. I hate to jinx it, but the ideas are starting to come back. 🙂

  4. It sounds like you’re finally getting a chance to let your soul fill its hunger as well as your mind.

    • It does feel that way, Eden. The time in the Adirondacks were magical as well.

  5. Would love to practice yoga – sounds like it would ease my pain from how it is helping you. May this next round allow those words to flow. Reading is a joy that’s for sure.

    • Thank you, Bev. The ideas are starting to come back to me–the next step should be the words.

      I recommend yoga–it stretches me enough to be sore the next day, but not to the point of never wanting to do it again.


Please leave a reply

Categories

