ROW80

Pinch me, things are going well

Okay, perhaps I’m envisioning a canter more than actually doing it, but I haven’t fallen off the horse yet.  I have learned some interesting things:

After criticizing myself for years for not having the fire to write, I’m finding that I do write every day, and think about writing in situations where I cannot.

After years of avoiding criticism from others, I’m pushing myself to put writing out there for critique.  In fact, I’m adding a goal to my list to ensure doing that. I’ve checked the mirror in sheer astonishment, but yup, that’s still me looking back.

I’ve regained an ability to step back from the everyday, an ability I thought I had lost several years ago, which helps me write about the past with slightly less cultural baggage.  It also helps me observe and describe my past without choking on my emotional baggage.

1. I am dedicating a 1/2 hour every work day to a non-fiction, scholarly, article. This got lost in administrativa on Thursday and Friday, but I refuse to stress about it.  I’ve set up some accountability with a handful of work colleagues, so I have to report on my progress. I’ll be back on the horse tomorrow.

2.  I will write at least five sentences everyday on my fiction. This is still happening, I’m delighted to say.

3. I will post a WIPpet every Wednesday, as I find the accountability very helpful. I’ve hit this goal every Wednesday of this Round.

4. I will spend 1/2 hour everyday on one or more of the blogs. I have begun to edit my drafts, and expand my idea file. Even more significantly, I’m excited about finishing some of the posts.

I hope everyone is hitting their stride this Round.  Please do drop by to encourage some of the ROW80 participants here.

smaller EM

8 thoughts on “Pinch me, things are going well”

  1. A canter is usually best; it last longer, without as much of a burn-out! It’s awesome to hear that you’ve got a good stride going for you, Elizabeth. Keep it up!

    After criticizing myself for years for not having the fire to write, I’m finding that I do write every day, and think about writing in situations where I cannot.” A big old AMEN for that. That’s what it’s all about.

    1. Thanks, L S! After the long stay in the slough, it is nice to have the words coming quickly, spinning onto the page. And that is what it is all about. I feared that the fire was snuffed by years of being pushed into a corner, and the past year of multiple sorrows. To find the spark still glowing in the banked fire was quite a gift.

  2. Slow and steady progress is always better than a first massive burst and then faltering at the first hurdle (I’m loving the horsey metaphors here). It’s always better to start small and build your way up, getting the habits in place and slowly pushing yourself and that’s what you seem to be doing here.
    Good luck with meeting your goals and don’t worry too much about occasionally letting one slide. RoW80 is ‘the writing challenge that knows you have a life’ after all 😀

    1. Nicole, that is exactly what I’m trying to do. I’ve realized through the years that I have to take baby steps to get the habit established–and finally I’m listening to myself! I appreciate your encouragement.

Please leave a reply

