ROW80

Still on the horse

It has been an interesting, contemplative, half week since last Wednesday’s check-in. There has been a lot of reading, so I was happy to see Kait’s admonition in the check-in post to read.  I spent some time visiting some ROW80 and WIPpet Wednesday blogs, as well as reading some books.  I can’t get around to as many blogs as I would like, but the reading I have done has been very beneficial in pointing out where I need to work on things.

The initial meeting with my colleagues went quite well.  Three of us do not have offices, but cubicles (veal-fattening pens), so we ended up getting interrupted a fair amount.  Along with congratulating ourselves on what we got done, we brainstormed ideas on how to do better. We talked about our projects and goals, as well as planning a writing day at least once a month.

I managed to meet Kait’s challenge in last Sunday’s check-in post to increase my word count.  I’ve written enough already to have next Wednesday’s  WIPpet excerpt ready to go.  My feeling of accountability there is still working, which is gratifying.  My latest entry, if anyone is interested, is on my platform here, with earlier entries easily found, due to the  lack of posting there (blush).  I’ve settled, for the moment, on my memoir, which is difficult to write, but is helping me work through it all.

I reported on Wednesday that I was starting to see themes for the blogs.  My love for words and literary history is deep-seated, such that I don’t think I can give that up.  I’ve also been contemplating the impostor syndrome that I still find myself fighting.  I know I’m not alone in that, and want to to explore that as well. Finally, I’m looking into topics that crop up while worldbuilding.  There are so many things I take for granted in the 21st century.  Most people think of  technology, but I’m looking at the availability of food, water, shelter, clothing.  I know a lot about the 14th century intellectually, but when it comes to describing the life of a character, it becomes a different and emotional investigation.

The horse and I have settled into a comfortable co-existence, with the occasional fright at a shadow, or the discomfort of being too long in the saddle.  It is proving to be very good for me.

If you have a chance, do visit some of the some of the ROW80 participants here. It helps immensely to have the encouragement.

smaller EM

8 thoughts on “Still on the horse”

  1. I occasionally have time off grid in a renovation project in France. We’ve only just got running water, but its cold. Before this I was never really aware of how heavy water was, nor of how much we need for daily essentials like washing or cooking. There is no electricity, and all our cooking is on an open fire, which is used for heating all water.
    It certainly makes one appreciate the little things such as showers and electric lights.

    1. It is amazing, isn’t it? I never thought about how much water women had to bring back from the public fountains. We just think, pretty fountains, now.

      My mother grew up with a well, wood cooking stove, and fireplaces for heat. I can only imagine what that is like from some short camping trips, and even she had more amenities than 14th century France.

    1. Aren’t they just lovely, Kathi? I yearn some days for a door, and I shouldn’t complain, because I have a window (that’s what head of a department gets you at a university library!), but I would sooooo love a door.

      1. I would love taller walls and a door. Are walls are only high enough so that when you’re sitting you can’t see each other. It was supposed to encourage open communication. Uh-huh. But I’m moving back to our other facility and it looks like this time I’ll have window. Which will be the only bright spot to the floor plan I saw.

  2. You had a great week, first of all.

    I understand the whole “impostor syndrome” feeling. I always had a hard time writing resumes because I never felt comfortable saying that I did something.

    I liked your memoir piece. I have to remember that not everyone’s childhood was the laugh riot that mine was.

    1. Thanks for the encouragement, John. I thought I’d grow out of the impostor syndrome, but nope. I’ll be interested on your take on my posts about it.

      I didn’t realize for a long time that I didn’t have the regulation normal childhood. I need to write about it, but I don’t want to be a total downer. Maybe I should skip to a happier part?

Please leave a reply

