Posted by: Elizabeth Anne Mitchell | August 3, 2014

Still at the track and still on track

As these things tend to happen, life got in the way this past week.  On Monday, our youngest found an apartment within walking distance of his new college, Thursday signed the lease, and by Friday morning was all packed and ready to go. There was a lot to accomplish, as his apartment is not furnished, so I’ve been the proverbial chicken.

It is very strange to have only my husband and I rattling about the house. When we rented this place, it seemed over the top to have three bedrooms.  As it turned out, we had both sons move in temporarily, so it worked out.  Our older son moved last January to go to school, although he has come home pretty regularly.  I know that his brother, the dogs, and the free washer and dryer, explained a lot of that visiting.  Now  his younger brother will be living half a mile away from him–and has a free washer and dryer–so I know visits will diminish. And before someone gently points out the following truth, I do know that it is a good thing that they are moving away and making their own lives.  I am proud of them, I’m happy for them, I’m pleased to get the office I thought I was going to get two and a half years ago, but it is so strange not to have any of the kids around after 23 years.

On the writing front, I was very happy to find another piece of my old writing life return to me. Last Thursday, Barry Koostachin sent me a link to a youtube music video “to jog my muse,” and I am very pleased to report that it worked–after years of no longer finding music inspiring, and feeling jealous of the writer friends who were making playlists and the like. I’ve put the link at the bottom of the post, so you can enjoy it as well.

On to the check-in:  I am continuing to meet the increased word count, faltering some days, but making it up the next.  I have also worked on another blog post a week, beyond WIPpet and ROW80 check-ins. I think I may publish one by the end of this week.

So, how are all of you doing? Also, help your fellow participants with some encouragement. You can find them here.

Here is the music that prodded my muse into action. Enjoy!

 

Responses

  1. We had a revolving door for a few years and it was great having the kids home (youngest now 26!) but I must admit I am enjoying the empty nest and especially my retirement! I can do as I please. I hope my writing will become more regular but…. Love the music! All the best in the week ahead.

    • Thank you for the reassurance, Bev. I’m sure I’m going to find the benefits soon, as well. I have several years to go until retirement, but I can well imagine how freeing that will be. Have a great week, too!

  2. Beautiful harp music. I am Irish, so it really resonates with me. 😀

    Nice job on your goals.

    • Thanks, Erin. I’m Irish, with a bit of Welsh, so I love Celtic music, too.

  3. Lovely, inspirational music. I’m one that prefers silence, but this clip shows me possibilities. I love the aspect of hope that threads through the melody. I too found it difficult to adjust to that empty nest — but college years are those times when our children learn to truly be themselves, sometimes far from loving parents. How wonderful to have that office waiting for you. Enjoy and may the coming week be a good one!

  4. We’ve talked more lately, Jim and I, about what life will look like a few years down the road. Jeremiah is about to be a teenager; that’s got us poised for a new type of adventure.

    What we know is that we all like each other now, and that doesn’t seem like it’s going to change over the rest of their growing up. We’re in no rush to be rid of them – they’re very interesting people (as you might remember!).

    We’ve thought some about us leaving, because this house is the only home Lise has had, and Miah has lived here since he was 4 months old. Jim and I would love to resume a more nomadic life, more in keeping with the way we lived before we had children, when we worked in national parks.

    It’s always strange when the kids aren’t home, and I am. I think I would rather come and go from the house than have it emptied permanently of their energy. I can definitely understand the allure of the extended family unit, when I think of that…

    It sounds like you’re doing well, considering that your life contained a sudden and unexpected burst of doing other things. =D


Please leave a reply

Categories

