ROW80

Round Four Goals

 

IMG_20140913_232519It’s time to announce my goals for Round Four of ROW80.  I’m afraid this is the Round where the procrastination must stop, as the day job is on the line.

1. My final, required article for tenure has to be submitted by the end of the Round. Dry as Saharan winds or not, there must be at least 1500 words written every week to this goal.

2. My equally fascinating tenure dossier must also be submitted by the end of the Round. Y’all are lucky, as I will not ask for beta readers for this Death Valley delight. However, I must spend an hour a day writing, editing, and begging people to write nice letters for me.

3. Yoga and meditation are the only ways to face my hours with nothing but saguaros for company.  Every morning, now in the dark, *eep*, before coffee and shower.

4. For balance and sanity, I will continue to fill out worksheets, mandalas, mind maps and character sketches on the novella/novel/magnum opus as well as the memoir.  Let’s give that a half-hour a day.

I will try to answer comments and return visits as I can.  It is going to be one interesting ride between now and the end of December, so please know in advance if I am in curmudgeon hibernation, it is because I don’t want to whine too loudly.  The encouragement is as big a part of ROW80 as the accountability, so please go cheer on the other ROWers here.

smaller EM

 

5 thoughts on “Round Four Goals”

  1. I’ve tried meditation, but it gets noisy–like being in the midst of a huge party with everyone conversing at once. I was told that actually means that I’m quite open and can hear all the ‘spirits’ talking. That may be, but it totally defeats the purpose. Anyhow, good luck on the article. I’m positive it’s not as dry as most. 🙂

  2. Good luck, Elizabeth! Eyes on the prize; I know you can kick that procrastination in the butt and get stuff done. I’m the type of person that works best with a deadline hanging over my head, so here’s to success for you, too!

  3. You have a busy couple of months ahead of you. Good luck on th article and the tenure packet. Those are likely your primary focus, but don’t forget some time to relax and get away from it as much as you can. You have time planned in here for that, I know, but be sure to take it. Best of luck!

  4. Good luck with your goals 🙂 This is my first experience with ROW80 and I’m looking forward to spending time with the team and discovering more about their progress as the round develops.

Please leave a reply

