ROW80

Round One 2015 Goals

It is time for me to announce my goals for Round One. I’ve also been contemplating words for the year, and have settled on simplicity and minimalism.

For sanity, I want to reduce email, hard drive, and paper file clutter, to be better organized and spend less time frantically searching for things–four hours a week.

I also want to concentrate on people, not things. I will continue to go through my belongings with an eye to donate or give things away–two hours per week.

I will fulfill my assignment as a sponsor within 24 hours.

Re-establish contact via email, LinkedIn, or snail mail with one colleague or friend per week.

Writing

I got word this morning that the article I worked on last Round was accepted, with revisions. I want to finish revisions by the end of January,

Write a 45 minute presentation, due mid-March–an hour a week in this early, planning stage.  

Plot and outline my memoir and my novel–five hours a week.

Selfcare

Continue Qigong and meditation every morning.  Promote better sleep by avoiding TV and computer screens for the last hour before sleep.

Catch up with all the doctors’ and dentist appointments I have let slide for the past year.

Be mindful about stress and stress-related eating, hoping to exercise to reduce stress and, as a byproduct, become more fit–walk 20 minutes a day.

If you are unfamiliar with a Round of Words, or ROW80, click here to read more about it from the creator of the challenge, Kait Nolan. It is a writing challenge that “knows you have a life.” Its flexibility is often helpful.

Please go visit around the other ROWers, whom you can find here.  Encourage as you can, share strategies, make friends.  It is a wonderful community.

smaller EM

9 thoughts on “Round One 2015 Goals”

  1. I too spent last year de-cluttering and giving away – mostly done but still a few corners! it is strangely liberating isn’t it? your goals are good and do-able – and the exercise both things to help clear the mind for creativity – all the best for 2015:)

  2. I have been working through December to de clutter. It truly does make way for everything else. This challenge is cool because many of us have similar goals. It sounds like you have set attainable and healthy aspirations.

  3. I hear you on the paper clutter. We’re cleaning that up now. Mary’s working on scanning all the knitting and crochet patterns that she’s printed and loading them to her iPad, and I’m putting everything I might need later (insurance policies, product manuals, tax documents, receipts, etc.) into Evernote. I’m a premium user, so everything is searchable. Much, much better than all that paper.

  4. Another ROW80 saying hi; minimizing is on my list this year too! More mentally minimizing–I’m incorporating a non-profit and then stepping down as president! But I have a lot of stuff to reduce too. Good luck, looking forward to following your journey!

  5. Similar to your hope to SIMPLIFY, my one-word theme of the year is COMPLETION. I’m attempting 500 words per day, with hopes of completing my WIP by June 30, 2015. I’m participating in a reading challenge, as well, but nothing extremely structured. I made a list of 50 books I want to read this year, and if I hit ‘em all, that’s awesome, but if I fall short, that’s okay.And I am trying to be more creative this year, as well. I like the ICAD {Index Card a Day} Challenge. I can send you a link to it if you’re interested in the prompts. I know I need to work in some exercise, too, so maybe I’ll concentrate more on that next round. Good luck! We can do this!

  6. <3!

    I love this for you. It feels Just Right.

    I'd've done better with my first round of sponsor visits if I hadn't visited the wrong number, and not realized it till last night – oops!

    I'm with Ruth on your fiction. I love when you join us over at WIPpet Wednesday.

    BIG Brava for that article!

    And, lastly, I hereby volunteer to be one of the friends you get back in touch with, if you need one. =) September feels like yesterday and long ago, all at once.

    Now, I'm off to celebrate a half-birthday with this girl I love…

Please leave a reply

