Posted by: Elizabeth Anne Mitchell | May 3, 2015

Another Good Week

Iris

Photograph by Dana Ross Martin WANA Commons under a Creative Commons license

I am a bit sad today, since it is my late brother’s birthday. I’ve been thinking about my mother a lot, now that flowers are starting to show up here after our long winter. My mother didn’t pass her green thumb down to me, but I love flowers and work hard to keep them flourishing.  I remember that my mother planted iris like the one in the picture along our garage.

Despite my slight sadness, I had a good week, and I must admit I could get used to this new trend. Last Sunday evening, I crashed the local NaNo group writing meeting. Well, not exactly crashed, since I was invited by Eden. Also, I did sign up for NaNo in November of 2013, and was still somewhat a member of the group, even though I crashed and burned spectacularly that November.

During three 20-minute sprints, I managed to write over three handwritten pages, which is stunning for me, especially given the word count is closer to 300 than the standard 250 per page.  During the fourth sprint, I did some world building, which was still more than three-fourths of a handwritten page. It felt good, empowering, and proved again that I do not need perfect conditions, since I am definitely a lark, and writing from 7-9 in the evening is not optimal for my circadian rhythms.

This revelation helped me glide through almost a full week of frustration and having to redo work documents four and five times.  The week did end on a positive note, thank goodness.

I decided to resurrect Lapidary Prose, a long moribund blog, posting a First Friday Photo in a blog hop set up by Eden Mabee.  If you are interested, check it out.  No one needs to be a professional photographer, but merely to enjoy it.

I also had let Elizabeth Anne Mitchell, my other blog, fall into disuse, although not as long.  I posted a Friday Laugh, to get myself back into the swing of things.  I also spent some time yesterday queuing up posts.

In the past several months, I have seen a fair amount of push back against the common wisdom that authors have to blog often.  The argument is that blogging is fine, but if it interferes with writing, it is counter productive.  The proponents of blogging cite the admonition of those who say authors must create their own platforms to garner interest from traditional publishers. To be honest, of late I have blogged only for accountability, but then I have only been writing for the day job, so I can’t say blogging has gotten in the way.  

Have any of you noticed a change in the past couple of years regarding the advice about blogging versus writing?  I’d love to hear your comments.

Also, take a minute or two to visit with the other RoW80 participants here.

smaller EM

 

 

 

Responses

  1. FWIW, I’d say that in the past (2013-2014, namely), I have allowed blogging to get in the way of my writing. I’d also say that *my* blog pretty much does nothing for me as an author. It’s less a platform and more a sandbox. Blogging is something I do for fun. The only thing it says about me as an author is, “This is stuff I enjoy. Also, writing is *hard*.” I’m mostly okay with that. 😉

  2. I’m sorry for your loss.

    I’m another one with a blog that doesn’t appear to be helping. 90% of my posts these days are ROW80 posts. I’ve been trying to expand the content to different things that may interest others (besides writing). Hasn’t really happened yet, but I do enjoy blogging.

    I’ve heard it said that writers shouldn’t write about writing. Unfortunately, it’s kind of unavoidable — you want to share what’s going on with your readers. A lot of people find it fascinating. So it’s hard to tell what’s good and what’s bad.

  3. Gentle thoughts… and many flowers. May they bring happy memories.

    I’m not sure a lot of blogging is a good thing. I like to read “some” posts, and some people certainly can create a platform with their blogging. But it takes all kinds of platforms to catch the attention of people. I’m fine with the occasional post from someone I like to read (actually, I’m more likely to stop reading their posts if there are too many for me to keep up with). That’s where blogging breaks into my writing time… trying to keep up with everyone else’s blogs. It’s about a lot of headspace that gets pulled in random directions…. and gets lost trying to find its way to the page.

    That’s one reason–one of the biggest reasons, I made the First Friday Photo the way I did. I think public accountability helps a lot. But I don’t need twice a week or weekly posts to drive a passion… Once a month for some things is fine.

  4. I know it’s sad when those days come around. I lost my best friend four years ago May 1, so that was a sad day, too. So I totally get it.

    About the blogging.I’m going to say something shocking. I don’t CARE what the latest advice is about blogging, If I want to, I will. If I don’t want to, i won’t. That’s just me. 🙂 (I sound like a rebel, LOL)

    Seriously, though, what I’ve found is when I was blogging regularly, I got a lot of activity, lots of comments and likes. When I started only doing ROW80 updates, I just didn’t get that anymore. I had someone say on their own blog once that he loved to read my blogs because he never knew what they were going to be about. That’s the way I used to blog, sometimes about writing and sometimes about random things. Sometimes the random things were fun. Sometimes they were serious. That’s the kind of blogger I’d like to be again. I miss being that blogger.

    I’m glad you had a good week. And good for you for crashing the NaNo write-in. I remember the first time I did NaNo, some of us set up a time and place to write, and I was so excited to be writing with other people. Every one of those people bailed on me. They all had some reason they couldn’t make it, so I never set that up again. It’s good to know that there are actually NaNo groups that meet!

    Okay, I’ve been a Rambling Rosie for some reason. Sorry. 😦

  5. Birthdays can be hard. Yesterday was also my father-in-law’s birthday. He died over 8.5 years ago, and it was still rough.

    I think I’ve come up with a good posting schedule for me. And even then, sometimes I skip a day. The important thing, though, is that it works for me. I know it wouldn’t work for some people. That’s really the best you can do.

    And I’m glad you ended up having a good week.

  6. I’m with Lauralynn, here. I do blog a lot, but it has a huge amount less to do with ‘platform’ that it does with – well, me.

    I like sharing me. I like engaging in challenges, and chatting about things that appeal to me, things that I need to say, things that make me laugh or cry or think…

    I started my first blog after Elijah died. I needed a place to work through all the things I was feeling and experiencing. I made about six posts, and stopped for years…

    Now, I blog to chat. To connect. To share.

    To be myself, to understand myself, and others…

    Blogging feeds my creativity, and my soul. That’s why I do it.

    But that’s just me, right now. It might be all wrong for you!

  7. I have seen the same things about blogging, and agree that it really doesn’t do much as far as “platform” goes. But I like blogs better than other social media so I read a lot of them still. I used to blog about local history and other things that required research, so took a lot of time. Too much, so I cut back to just Sunday ROW80 blogs, for accountability. But I try to include other stuff, like what I’ve been up to during the week, what I’ve been reading, and usually photos of my dog, which my few visitors seem to enjoy.

  8. Some times that day of quiet reflection honors those memories of those you love who are no longer here. The longer I live, the more appreciation I feel for the gifts that person brought and the time we shared together. Balance in all things and moderation, I tell myself. But that doesn’t make change (or work) any easier on some days. Today I babysat my granddaughter for a few precious moments out in the front yard while her parents loaded the car. We picked dandelions together, and then she said, “Sing me a song about dandelions, gramie.” And so I did.

    Thank you for visiting and for your encouraging words. Blogging for me is both a challenge and a way to connect with others. I find I’m enjoying these online writing communities more and writing for invisible audience a little trickier. The First Friday photos post sounds like fun. I may just jump right in!


Please leave a reply

Categories

