ROW80

Assessment of progress toward RoW80 goals

Where the magic happens
Writing Desk

When I checked in last Wednesday, I got a notice from WordPress that post was my 200th on this blog. In celebration of that blogiversary, I felt it would be a good time to assess how I was doing toward my goals. My first goal was to protect my writing time.  I have been doing better than previous Rounds, although I haven’t quite nailed the goal yet.

My second goal was to connect with Rowers, and on Facebook and Twitter. I’ve been able to avoid getting lost in the rabbit holes that are Facebook and Twitter.  I’ve managed to keep up with my assigned folks, but have not been as responsive to comments as I would like.  I want to do better on keeping up with comments.

My goal to organize has gone better this Round.  I have spent several hours per week getting email tamed, and compiling versions of files on hard drives.  I do hate to file papers, so I’m behind on compiling my craft book notes.  

I’ve also fallen behind on writing, although I am still doing better than previous Rounds.  I am very proud of the fact that I manage to “write on demand” every Sunday night during the sprints, since I have been convinced for years that I could not do such a thing. I have also had to do a fair amount of writing for the day job, and have been able to force myself to write when I am certainly not inspired.

My major goal for this Round is to move from victim to author, as described in Kait’s opening post. If I look at it as a paradigm shift, I am certainly making progress.  I no longer give up if life interferes as much as I used to do, and I have managed to find other times and venues to write that I would not have tried in the past.

How are you progressing with your goals?  I’d love to hear about it. Also, please go visit around the other ROWers, whom you can find here.  Encourage as you can, share strategies, make friends.  It is a wonderful community.

smaller EM

 

 

6 thoughts on “Assessment of progress toward RoW80 goals”

  1. It looks like you’re seeing progress on most every front, Elizabeth. That counts a lot more over the long haul than any number of momentary accolades.

  2. When I was making the enormous-for-me paradigm shift from strict authoritarianism to radical unschooling, peaceful partnering parent, one of the things that helped the most was the advice, “Make a better choice.”

    So, where I would have hit, a better choice was to yell. Once I usually chose that, I could make a better choice to take a deep breath….and, over the course of about three years, I shifted my approach, bit by bit, choice by choice, moment by moment.

    It’s been maybe five years since I’ve hit either of my children. It’s been maybe two since I yelled at them…I still raise my voice sometimes, and I don’t always deal with every challenge (with the challenges changing with teens and puberty) as well as I would like –

    But it was those little changes and choices that got me to a place where my kids are happy I’m their mom, and where we have a (mostly) peaceful home.

    It seems like you’re doing a great job at making those little better choices, and you know where you want to end up…

    I’ve got a great feeling about your next 200 posts – and I wish I’d read this before I saw you Sunday night – I would have given you an extra squeeze to congratulate you! ❤

  3. 200 posts? That’s fantastic! And congratulations on all of your progress. That victim to author post was inspiring, wasn’t it? I think I’m going to go read it again. 🙂

Please leave a reply

