ROW80

The good weeks keep rolling in

editing, writing, red pen,
From cellar_door_films via WANA Commons

It’s Memorial Day weekend here in the States, so I’m looking forward to being off the day job. And yes, I am putting writing first, as Kait suggests in today’s check-in post. In fact, my sons are home for the summer, which will ease the housework load, and easier to make time for creative pursuits.

So on to the check-in. Last week was frustrating, with many supervisory headaches and serious talks with a couple of my staff.  Some weeks I earn every cent of my supervisory stipend, and this week of herding locusts was one of them. Even so, I found time for planning and writing.  Also, Amy Kennedy wrote a thought-provoking post on taking the time to enjoy a cup of coffee.  This post seems to be one of those the Universe wanted me to pay attention to, as it hit me with a blast of recognition.  Eden also referenced it in her check-in post last week, and brought it back to my thoughts again. I realized that although I’d savored cups of coffee once the boys were in kindergarten and first grade, I have not done so for a long time.  I’m always doing something else, and I’ve even found my morning meditation time has eroded into shorter and more distracted time.

Part of my restlessness can be traced to my upbringing.  My aunt was of the firm belief that “idle hands are the Devil’s workshop,” so I feel slothful and almost sinful if I do not have knitting or quilting or some form of needlework in my hands.  However, I was able this week to return to meditation, clearing my mind of the Rolodex of tasks and worries that is usually spinning its evil in my brain.

Amy’s post reminds me of one of my favorite quotations from Blaise Pascal. “All of humanity’s problems stem from man’s inability to sit quietly in a room alone.” I have to admit when I sit in a coffeeshop and watch people at the same table focus on their phones, I see myself in the mirror of that self-absorption.  I hope to write a post about this topic, which may help me to be more mindful of my need for diversions.

On the positive side as well, last Sunday night’s group sprint was very productive.  I finished the first draft of an article for work, which has gone to the academic equivalent of beta readers this week. I also tackled the female character I mentioned in the last check-in, using Denise’s suggestion of writing in first person, just to get inside her head.  The exercise was starting to make her more real, and I followed up with exercises from Rachel Funk Heller’s Writers’ Coloring Book for which I was a beta last fall.  I was working through my English war bride’s strengths and fears, when I moved on to her yearning.   Suddenly, I got her completely; I knew what I had been missing in her backstory.  I was very pleased and happy with myself. I also got the chance to see Shan for the first time in a long time. *waves*

I ended the week by finishing up an additional sponsor post.  This week had so much to contemplate, so many great posts, it was great fodder. So all in all, a positive and productive week, although I do need to work more assiduously on some of my goals, especially responding to comments in a more timely manner.  How are you doing? Let me know, and I will respond, by gosh!

Also, please go visit the other RoWers.  Many of us are facing a change in routine with the summer here, so encouragement to stay strong and stay writing is very helpful.  The linky is here.


smaller EM

 

6 thoughts on “The good weeks keep rolling in”

  1. I’m very happy to hear this, hun. It’s been a bit of a frustrating, challenging week here, but I think the unsettling is finally at a pause.

    May I ask about what you discovered in your character’s voice? I mean, it’s just awesome news.

    1. Thanks, Eden. I’d be happy to share what I discovered. While doing the first person, she was still a bit distant, although not as bad as before. When I worked through her fears, I realized that her father’s death when she was young was behind the brittleness I felt from her. She wasn’t wanted much of anywhere, with her mother’s remarriage and being sent off to school. So the dam was breaking a bit there. 🙂

      Then when I was thinking through her yearning, it hit me that she wants to belong, to matter to someone. It all came together as a fear of intimacy.

      I’m excited, too. Now that I write it out, it all seems trite, but I think it will work.

      I hope this next week is much better for you. ❤

  2. Glad to hear about all the positive changes that seem to be taking place! Very happy for you. And a lot of stuff sounds trite when you summarize it, but when you fill it with the needs and longings of a fully imagined character, it can become something very different. 🙂

  3. Usually before I start writing I sit blissfully at the computer, leisurely looking at fun things on the internet while drinking my coffee. I feel it does my writing lots of good. It also allows me to make sure I have everything I need for when I write without being fully settled in.

    Sounds like you had a good break through with your character. Congrats! I hope things keep going well on the project. 🙂

  4. good week for you on many fronts – pleased for you – I write all my books in 1st person – I have tried other viewpoints but don’t seem to be able to manage – but it’s true about finding out about their innermost thoughts and fears

    I was once told by a doctor to meditate – which I dismissed out of hand – i don’t do meditation is what I said – but over the past few years of ill health I have found the times when i NEED to lie down and do nothing have become the nearest I will get to that state – I let my mind wander wherever it wants and its a half dreaming state – relaxing, creative and very theraputic – see I can do meditation:)

    all the best for coming week and keep smiling:)

  5. Your check-in for the week in full of thoughtful suggestions and insights that have led to better insight into your characters. Yes, the turn of the seasons into summer is truly upon us, adding a little twist to the ‘normal’ routine and another layer of motivation to keep writing. I’m also working on a motivational article for ROW80 (and feeling just so far behind), but step by step, so we go forward. I will try your character writing exercises for my current main protag. Funny that during my last drafting phase, I did switch from first person to third. But I never thought about that link between a character’s history and yearning. Have a good week.

Please leave a reply

