ROW80

Push-me Pull-you week

An interesting week of wide contrasts from one day to the next, from the depths of illness to, well, if not the sublime of creativity, a good hillock of creativity.  I prefer to get the bad out of the way, so here it is. My father fell about a month ago, giving himself a concussion and a couple of hematomas.  This week, he fell again, and ended up in the ICU overnight.  I am a thousand miles away from him (Google says 1,004, to be exact), so I feel rather helpless.  Topping it off was getting violently ill at work on Friday, which is very unusual for me.  I have not felt great all weekend, although I am no longer as ill as I was.  I do not think it is contagious, but I am not going to my writing group, just in case, which also makes me sad.

Enough of the bad, and on to the good. Thursday I gave a presentation at another college, which went well.  Almost the best part of the day was that instead of driving the interstate, I went on the Taconic Parkway, which winds through woods and mountains down towards New York City. It was nice to slow down to enjoy the scenery.

I also had a great conversation with Gabriela Pereira of DIYMFA about some of my struggles with writing, especially dialog.  She had some intense exercises for me to try, and some very helpful hints in addressing my perfectionism.  We also talked about my platform, which, as many of you know, since I have vented here often enough, has been difficult for me to rein in, handle, and work to my advantage. I felt I had a better sense of direction and more of an idea of where to expend effort.

As I have mentioned before as well, I am struggling with the whole social media thing as well. Lisa Hall-Wilson really got me thinking in this post. Although I am not guilty of most of the list, I do need to adjust some things on my platform.  I resolve to do better, and all of you can check my progress.

Finally, on my list of good things from this past week, I started to follow my own advice in the sponsor post that went up on Monday.  I started with the easy stuff, but that’s okay, right?  I have made some steps to declare myself a writer to all and sundry. The results have been mixed, but even so, I feel as though I’ve scrubbed theatrical makeup off my face, lighter and truer to myself than I have felt in a very long time.

So, how are all of you doing?  I have put responding to comments at the top of my list for this week, so let me know. I’m happy to sympathize or congratulate, as the case may be.

Please go visit the other RoWers here especially as we round third and head for the home base of this Round.

smaller EM

 

6 thoughts on “Push-me Pull-you week”

  1. Love and light to your father and your family. Declaring to friends, family or the general public that you are a writer is scary business. I’m glad you are feeling like the mask is coming off. Good luck from a ROW80 blog hopping friend.

  2. Much love to you, hun. I can imagine how it must be not knowing how your father is fairing.

    That said… the Taconic is lovely, isn’t it? Still not as fun as being able to meander up and down through the side roads, but still a nice change of pace.

  3. How difficult it must be for you – to not only be so sick but to be so far from your dad. Prayers for you both.
    Sounds like you had an exceptional meting with Gabriela. We need those contacts that can push our writing. All the best in your work on your platform.

  4. The rough parts of your week were quite rough. I hope things are improving for your father. And I hope you’re feeling better too.

    I just want to say, I also fumble in the realm of platform. However, I feel that eventually I’ll figure it out and it will click in a way that’s right for me. As there’s no right or wrong way and more than one approach.

    I hope this week treats you better and that you continue to make forward progress.

  5. Nice metaphor about the make-up. 🙂

    keep going, keep fighting and you will find your path, platform, and peace. Okay, I am a little alliterative today. As my mentor says, “If you really want to do something; no one can stop you. If you really don’t want to be something; no one can help you.” Sending good vibe to you and your dad. ~hugs~

  6. Elizabeth, I am so sorry. I read this earlier in the week on another device and had intended to pop by sooner, but so many things going on in my life also. Although not as serious. My goodness, when things like this happen to our parents we feel helpless. Yet, you’ve forged ahead, received some great advice, and are revising your social outlook. This writing thing is a crazy gig indeed. But my thoughts are with you and hope that your father continues on the road to recovery. And you too I might add! Take care my friend. 🙂

Please leave a reply

