Posted by: Elizabeth Anne Mitchell | June 26, 2015

Tribute to My Father and Assessment of Round Two

December 10, 1945 Wedding Day

December 10, 1945 Wedding Day

 

My post features this picture because worry for my father ran its subterranean stream under my Round. My father fell on March 19th, setting into motion his final struggle. For months, he managed to keep his life close to normal, and even more important to him, to stay in his home.  After a very brief decline, he passed away, in his home, on June 20th. 

My father loved words and literature.  The first sign that he was not well was when he did not do the crossword in the paper five days before his passing.  He read to us long before common wisdom of the time said we understood him, and imbued us all with a love of reading.  After he retired, I encouraged him to write about his life, and he did so.  His storytelling ability was clear, and I can only hope that I inherited some of it.  

 

Assessment of Round Two.

My major goal:  Move from Victim to Author, based on Kait’s opening post here. I made some progress on this major goal, by making the time to go to a local writing group that hosted in-person sprints.  I also began the process of melding my real person and my author person more closely together, by admitting my avocation to more friends and family. I also learned how to write on demand far more than I thought I could.  The in-person sprints were in the evening, a time I would have sworn I could not possible write, and yet I did.

Ancillary Goals:

Protect Time: Schedule one hour every day.  Life happens, but I must try to make writing time happen at least 4 out of 7 days.  At the beginning of the Round, I was doing pretty well on this goal.  I found myself having to write day-job related things, but it was writing.

Connect: With RoWers twice a week, both my assigned folks and others as possible. Until the final week of the Round, when I was caring for my father or preparing for his services in a house with no internet, I kept up with my visits.

                   Facebook 15 minutes every other day.  More is falling down the rabbit hole. Same as above.

            Twitter half hour twice a week.  Also a rabbit hole. I fell off of Twitter pretty quickly, as I am not as comfortable with it as Facebook.

Organize

Hard drive to find best version of dissertation and fiction writing. I managed to get all this clean-up accomplished.

Email so that I can find things. I also managed to get through most of my email files.

Paper files, especially of craft books and notes thereon. Although I did manage to organize many paper files, I did not make it through the craft book notes.  Something to carry over to Round Three.

Write

Dissertation; yes, a long story, but the dissertation is back in play. I accomplished some organization, but nowhere near what I had hoped.

Novel; the dissertation research is the foundation of the worldview of the novel. None, sadly.

Memoir; writing the memoir is helpful to my sanity. None, sadly.

Please visit the other Rowers here to encourage and congratulate them on their progress.  See you next Round, which starts July 6th.

smaller EM

Responses

  1. Thinking of you, my friend! Best of luck with your goals, and huge cheers for your progress. Your father would be very proud!

    • Thank you, August. I’m going to concentrate on honing my craft this new Round, and hope that I would continue to make my father proud.

  2. So sorry to hear about your father. ((HUGS))

    • Thank you for the hugs, Fallon. His decline was so quick, but that is exactly how be would have wanted it.

  3. You look so very much like your mother, Elizabeth. And yet, you have your father’s nose… What a picture! So much history in that single image.

    And I love the progress you made. It’s amazing what we can do when we just settle and do it.

    • Thank you, Eden. I’m glad I’m finally to the point of making myself write.

      My father always kidded me about how much I looked like him, thinking I looked exactly like my mother, but I do have some of his features, nose and smile notably.

      I came to understand a lot more about my father in his last days, which was a real gift.

  4. I’m am so very sorry for the loss of your father. I lost mine 15 years ago. It leaves a hole in our hearts. Yet, look at all that you accomplished. Wow. Even with all the grief. Glad you had something positive to focus on. But do allow yourself some time to heal. ((Hugs))

    • Thank you, Karen. I’m still reeling, since my father’s passing brings back my mother’s and my.brother’s so clearly, as we had to clear out my childhood house. The family moved there when I was eight weeks old.

      You are completely right that I have to allow myself to heal.

  5. My condolences to you. Death is never easy especially when it’s a loved one. Take what time to need. Remember the good memories. Find some way to honour them. It’s what I did when my theatre mentor passed away last year. We made a tribute to her and she got to see it before she pass the next day. ~hugs and healing energies your way~

    • Thank you, Cindy. It’s good that your mentor got to see your tribute before she passed away. I had the chance to say goodbye, which I missed with my brother and mother, and it helped immensely.

      I’m still thinking of ways to honor them all.


Please leave a reply

Categories

