Posted by: Elizabeth Anne Mitchell | July 19, 2015

RoW80 Check-in From the Siding

A mixed bag of a week, to be sure. I did a lot of writing this week, but all in the realm of articles for the day job.  It’s good to get them done, but it is not as satisfying as creative writing. I did manage a ten-minute sprint on Friday, so that was helpful–thanks to Eden, who suggested it. I should be able to post something for WIPpet Wednesday, which makes me happy.

I was back in Manhattan on Tuesday for more doctors’ appointments.  It was nice to go to a different neighborhood and find a new coffee/tea shop. I had planned to do some writing on the train, but I was tired and cranky, so I ended up just reading and dozing on the trip.

It was a tough week, so I didn’t accomplish many goals. There was a lot to do for the day job, and I seemed to need a lot of down time. In addition to the article I finished writing, I read an article for the dissertation’s literature review. I was supposed to work on mindful eating, with some success.  I’m still having some illness, so I suppose eating only non-fat foods, and very few of those, means I am meeting this goal.

Please go visit around the other ROWers, whom you can find here.  Encourage as you can, share strategies, make friends.  It is a wonderful community. If you are unfamiliar with a Round of Words, or ROW80, click here to read more about it from the creator of the challenge, Kait Nolan. It is a writing challenge that “knows you have a life.” Its flexibility is often helpful.

smaller EM

Responses

  1. As important as it is to accomplish goals, it’s more critical to take care of yourself. Take downtime when you need it or your body will force you to. Writing stories takes a lot out of oneself.

  2. Sorry that you had a rough week. Some weeks are just like that and it’s best not to sweat it. Hopefully the coming week is more peaceful and productive.

  3. You got some stuff done even if it wasn’t how much/what you would have liked. Hope the appointments went well and that you’re feeling better, or will be soon.

  4. Sorry to hear about your rough week. Sending you lots of healing wishes. Best of luck for a smoother writing week this time around!

  5. Work writing is never as fun as creative writing. I can relate to this. I’m sorry you had a bad week, but here’s hoping things get better. And, hey, you got that sprint in. Right? 🙂

  6. I’m sorry I’m a little late for this post. Been in the writing cave and haven’t been visiting the past week. But I found you in my email and wanted to drop by. You know Elizabeth, you did get a lot done. Health issues can suck a lot out of our life. And we need to pay proper attention to ourselves so we can heal. When we’re sick, we can’t push it. So I think you accomplished quite a bit my friend. Don’t be so hard on yourself. Tomorrow another day. It will happened. ((Hugs))

    • Thanks for the hugs, Karen, and no apologies necessary! I’m always glad to get your comments, whenever you can get to them.

      I’m headed to NYC to see a doctor today win I hope can help with my issues. Then tomorrow I’m helping Rachel Funk Heller with her exhibit at the Writer’s Digest conference, so I’m planning to have fun.

      Thanks also for pointing out that I have gotten things done, and yay for you in the writing cave! {hugs}


Please leave a reply

Categories

