Posted by: Elizabeth Anne Mitchell | July 29, 2015

RoW80 and WIPpet Wednesday

It has been a rough few weeks here, but I’m putting on my big girl panties and regrouping.  After I finished revisions on an article for the day job and sent it off to the journal, I just collapsed.  I read, I slept, I knitted, and that was about it. I’m slowly feeling like getting back into the swing of things.  This weekend, I will be in Manhattan helping out in the exhibits area at the Writer’s Digest conference–and I’m really looking forward to it.  I hope it will jumpstart some of the habits I have let fall by the wayside the last month or so.  That about all the news in this neck of the woods.  How are all of you doing?

Consider going around to cheer the other participants during these hot and steamy days.  The linky is here.

Medieval Writing, by Hans Splinter, WANA Commons

Medieval Writing, by Hans Splinter, WANA Commons

And for WIPpet Wednesday, I have 9 short paragraphs.  I added 2+9=11, then 1+1=2 and then 7+2=9.  This is very, very, rough, but I know this is a kind group.

Etienne stood in the doorway, visibly sweating.  Tomasso grasped the moist hand offered him, sternly reminding himself not to wipe his hand on his tunic.  

“Sir, I’m here to . . . um, I hope you will honor me . . . “

“I know why you’re here, Etienne.  You needn’t be nervous.” Tomasso remembered the terror that grasped him at the same moment, and paused, musing. “But, of course, you are.  She’s a good girl, despite her stubbornness.  You’ve seen that side of her, yes?”

Etienne nodded mutely.

“That’s exactly the right response, too.  Let her talk, and steer her when you can do it without her notice.  Do you think you can work with her, then?”

“I like that she thinks about things, sir. I mean, I can provide for her and take care of her, too.”

“She needs thought and debate as much as food and wine, Etienne. I couldn’t give her to someone who couldn’t provide that as well.”

“I enjoy being able to debate with her, sir.”

Tomasso smiled. “Let us hope and pray that lasts, Etienne. Now, go find her in the solar and ask her. If she says no,” he shrugged, ‘’then my blessing means nothing.”

WIPpet Wednesday is also a blog hop.  There are a lot of interesting snippets being shared on the linky here.

smaller EM

Responses

  1. It seems as if a lot of people are struggling this time of year, a lot of stress and a lot of goals being left at the side of the road. Maybe it is the dog days of summer. Or just that we have all been pushing ourselves so hard all year that we all just need a break.

    Best wishes for a productive upcoming week.

    • Thank you, Chris. The combination of work stress and personal loss is getting to me, but I’m going to have some time to relax and do some writing in August.

      All the best on your daughter’s wedding, as well as your other goals!

  2. Here’s to pushing past the speed bumps of life and onto better things.

    Sometimes you need those moments that don’t require thought, so you can gather strength for the next step.

    • Thanks, Cindy. I agree, at times I just need to unplug and let things go. I’m starting to feel better, and want to get back to the writing.

  3. Nice snippet, but poor Etienne. I love Tomasso’s last line. LOL I’m sure that didn’t help with Etienne’s nerves at all, though.

    Hopefully the coming weeks improve for you.

    • Thank you, Kathi. I’m starting to feel better. Also, I’m headed to NYC to see a doctor today, but am staying overnight to help with an exhibit at the Writer’s Digest conference tomorrow. That should perk me up as well.

      As for Etienne, he has no idea what he’s getting into with Christine, poor fellow!

  4. LOL Asking the father. Gotta say, Etienne got off easy.

    • Oh, he’s not going to have as easy a time with Christine! I set the poor fellow up!

  5. Interesting snippet, Elizabeth. I like the interplay here, the hesitation and the advances, the demure manners and the bold offers. And… I have to wonder… will she say ‘No.’

    A Writer’s Digest conference this weekend? Sounds delightful!

    • Thanks, Eden. As for poor Etienne, well, Christine is a pistol, so . . .

      I’m really excited about the conference. I’m helping Rachel Funk Heller with her exhibit on the Writer’s Coloring Book tomorrow. I won’t be able to go to any of the sessions, but I’m sure I’ll have fun and will meet some people, too.

  6. Aw, I just want to give Etienne a hug and then push him towards Christine before he can change his mind. This is an adorable little scene.

  7. I hope the conference went well!

    As for the scene, lol! Poor Etienne. Maybe I’m reading too much into it, but it sure sounds like a case of “like father, like daughter” here 🙂

  8. That last line sows that tiny seed of “but what if she does say no…?” Poor Etienne, can’t imagine that’ll help with his nerves!


Please leave a reply

Categories

