ROW80

Gallstones and Coloring Books

 

Much as I tire of reporting tough days, I’m afraid I have more to report.  We ended up having to euthanize our Weimaraner on Friday morning.  For several months, he had been doing better, giving us hope, but he declined quickly Thursday morning to being unable to eat or walk.  We had him for seven years, so we are all very upset.

Also, I had to say goodbye to him very early Friday morning, without even knowing if the vet would recommend euthanasia.   I had an appointment with a gastroenterologist in Manhattan on Friday that took several weeks to schedule, so I could not reschedule.  After many hours of testing, the diagnosis is gallstones.  I have to call a surgeon tomorrow to schedule surgery.  The diagnosis is unwelcome, but not unexpected, and it does help to have an end in sight.

On a positive note, I stayed in New York overnight so that I could help out on Saturday in the exhibit area at the Writer’s Digest conference.  Rachel Funk Heller was in town for the conference, and I helped cover her table on the Writer’s Coloring Book. It was a delight to meet her in person, to talk to people about the Coloring Book, and to have Rachel spinning plots for my next, oh, four or five books or so!  I also saw Gabriela Pereira of DIY MFA, with whom I’ve spoken on the phone so many times, but had never met in person.  I had a lot of fun, even as tired as I was. I was too late to register for the conference, but I plan to do so next year.

I haven’t gotten much written these last few days, although I did manage a few blog visits and replies to comments.  I’m starting to feel a little better all the poking and prodding from the testing on Friday, so I hope to get back to normal tomorrow.

I hope all is going well with everyone on their goals. Please go visit around the other ROWers, whom you can find here.  Encourage as you can, share strategies, make friends.  It is a wonderful community.

If you are unfamiliar with a Round of Words, or ROW80, click here to read more about it from the creator of the challenge, Kait Nolan. It is a writing challenge that “knows you have a life.” Its flexibility is often helpful.

smaller EM

 

3 thoughts on “Gallstones and Coloring Books”

  1. Ack! You had a tough week my friend. Yikes. I’m sorry about your doggie. That’s sad. And yet you are suffering from gallstones. Iy, yi, yi Elizabeth. No wonder you haven’t been well. Those can be very painful. How miserable. Glad you found out though. And I hope that all goes well with the surgery. You will be feeling better in no time. ((Hugs))

  2. I wish I’d known…. So very many hugs, Elizabeth. This has not been… a happy summer in many ways.But many condolences on Riley.And many hugs. And… so very cool to meet Rachel and Gabriella. I love everything I’ve seen of them through their words on their websites. You deserved that moment of awesome.

    1. I saw a couple of days ago that you suffered a loss, too, Eden. Many hugs and condolences to you.

      I shut down at times like this, when I should reach out. I have also been feeling progressively worse as time goes on. I’m scheduled for surgery September 3rd, so I’m hanging on for that.

Please leave a reply

