ROW80

ROW80 Check-in Awash in Creativity

So, hello, everyone.  I fell off the map for a while–at least as far as checking in. My summer led to pretty serious burnout, complicated by the tens of thousands of words written for the day job in August and September. As seems to happen often with me, the Universe decided to slap me upside the head in the past two days.  First, Gene Lempp, a writer I’ve followed for several years pointed out the insanity in waiting for the perfect moment to write in this postThe next day, Jenny Hansen, whom I’ve also been following for several years, entitled her post “Don’t stop,” as if she was in my head that morning when I seriously contemplating doing exactly that.

Following the advice of both these wise people, I sat down and wrote for ten minutes.  It wasn’t very pretty, but an amazing thing happened. The words started to tumble quickly, disordered, with ragged edges, but with small shiny bits in them that sparkled in the light.  Plot bunnies started congregating, bringing their babies, cousins, and nieces and nephews.  The creative well, dry for months, filled, overflowed, and filled several cisterns out in the yard.

So, goals?  As might be expected, I slam dunked some of them and made no progress on others.  I nailed the writing for 5 minutes five out of seven days goal, making up for four weeks in the space of one day.  I’ll take it.

I came close on connecting with RoWers twice a week, both my assigned folks and others as possible. I only got beyond my assigned folks once or twice, but I made progress.

I had much better success on taking care of myself, walking for 20 minutes at midmorning, not eating lunch at my desk, but in a peaceful environment, and making and keeping several doctors’ appointments.

I did not manage to make my goal of planning blog posts and updating widgets and peripherals, but I have had some ideas in the last few days.

How are all of you managing your goals?  Have you had some dry spells?

Please go visit the other ROWers, whom you can find hereEncourage as you can, share strategies, make friends, have fun.

smaller EM

 

8 thoughts on “ROW80 Check-in Awash in Creativity”

  1. I’m so happy to hear that your creative wellspring is filling up again! Congrats on getting back in the saddle. Plus, wow, that’s a lot of words written for the day job. Go you! I love the image of all those plot bunnies and their extended families hopping in. Blessings for a great finish to the week.

  2. I’m so happy!! You just made my week, Elizabeth. The universe has given me those sorts of pushes many, many times. I’m tickled to give you the right nudge at the right time. 🙂

  3. Keep on going, don’t let things sneak behind you, place its hands over your eyes and say guess who. Life can be moody at times, even though the journey is far from over.

    stay sweet and hope to come back and read more of your blog posts

  4. Don’t stop…beliEEEEEving….
    Hold on to that feeEEEEeeahling!

    OK, it’s after midnight and I’m punchy. Also, too much Cherry Coke.

    Oh, and the doctor appointments? I did the kids. I neglected my own. I needed that reminder.

  5. Yay! You’re on your way again. Gene and Jenny are very motivating. I understand Chaos and stress. I understand health issues. So I love that you haven’t let this stop you. Keep going Elizabeth. You are encouraging me! 😊

  6. Always glad to be a servant of the universe *smile* Absolutely thrilled for you, Elizabeth — amazing what happens when we embrace and engage our passions for even ten minutes. Gonna have a smile on my face all day over this. Go get em, lady!

  7. All I can add, Elizabeth, is that I’m thrilled you’re back and writing once again. The day job will take what it must, but it cannot take the essential creativity that is at the heart of your stories. Persevere! And thank you for being so supportive to me.

Please leave a reply

