Posted by: Elizabeth Anne Mitchell | November 18, 2015

Row80 check-in Changing course

editing, writing, red pen,

From cellar_door_films via WANA Commons

I hit a wall, not with ideas or planning, but with time.  I struggle with feeling that I “shouldn’t waste” my time with creative writing, and so it gets squeezed to the end of the day, when I have no energy left.  I was giving my best time and my best efforts to the day job.  Today I found out what an unwise investment that has been.

Today I received an object lesson on how corporations (and academic institutions are more like corporations than I find comfortable) demand loyalty without giving any in return.  I found out today, after several months of doing more than my own job on the promise of something better, that I have merely been contributing my extra efforts to the greater glory of the university, unsullied by lowly accoutrements like money and authority.  I spoke about writing poison pen letters in my sponsor post, but had no idea I would be following my own advice so quickly.

So, I plan to spend some time in the next few days remembering and refining my dreams.  I will dust off some of my goals that got pushed aside, and spend some time with them.  I have neglected friends and their blogs, but want to put those connections back on my plate.  I want  to invest my heart, breath, and time where they will grow and prosper.
Please go visit around the other ROWers, whom you can find here.

 

smaller EM

Responses

  1. Wow, sorry to hear you’ve been treated poorly at the day job. Sounds like it’s inspiring some new devotion to your writing, though. Best wishes for further inspiration!


Please leave a reply

Categories

