Musings, ROW80

Gratitude and RoW80 check-in

If you want to read only my Round of Words check-in, please look below.

The last few days I have been thinking about gratitude. Yesterday I realized that I was grateful for something I take utterly for granted.  Last Tuesday, I came downstairs to water raining in my dining room.  We called the landlord, who said he thought it was the bathtub.  Okay, this is the only shower or bathtub in the house, and I live with three men (that sounds more exciting than the actuality). I live with DH and Number 1 and 2 sons.  

May I share at a respectable distance that sponge bathing does not engender that squeaky-clean, boy, do I feel ready to greet the day, kind of feeling. The bathtub is a wondrous invention, really. May I also share that on this past Monday, we finally found a plumber who had some time to come look at the problem, only to find that it is not the bathtub pipes leaking, but the toilet. He had removed that toilet when he was called away to provide heat for someone–we have lots of hot water heat in the Capital District.

I have no valid right to complain about having no toilet on the second floor, since we do have a half-bath on the main floor. Also, providing heat for some people, when it was 7 degrees Monday morning–please, get right on that.  But . . . that big hole in the ceiling of my dining room was wet with toilet water, and not the perfume kind.  And that stairwell is really, really long at 4am and the half-bath floor downright wintry.

First world problems, to be sure. There are many more worthy things I am grateful for, I promise, but I have to say that I have never quite fully appreciated having a toilet down the hall before.  I blush to admit that I grouse about it being a communal bathroom, and having to throw on slippers and a bathrobe to trundle down the hall in the middle of the night.  I cannot promise that I won’t grouse from time to time, but today, I am so very grateful to have a working toilet, and a patched dining room ceiling.

ROW80 check-in

Read Story Engineering more carefully, taking notes, for three hours a week. Oops, I have not yet started this goal. I have a day job conference starting tomorrow through Monday, but I do have the e-book on my Kindle.  I should be able to eke out three hours before Sunday’s check-in.

I plan to work on a non-fiction project that has been simmering on my back burner for more than a decade. I am so very, very close to finishing, I want to put in a push to get it done.  So, I will write for a half an hour 6 out of 7 days. I did this, yay for me.  I have 3/3 since Monday’s goals post.

I also plan to resurrect a fiction piece that arose from the research for the non-fiction book.  I will write for half an hour 6 out of 7 days. Umm, haven’t gotten to this one yet *blushes*.  I do have plans for the rest of the week to get this done.

I plan to return to blogging, posting every check-in for a start.  I would like to expand my topics, but I need to re-establish the habit first. Here I am, two posts in a row–see how I did that?  So far, so good.  I plan to take the time to check-in on Sunday, but Wednesday (a week from today) I will miss, due to surgery.  I’ll try to check-in before Sunday, though.

Finally, I need to continue to take care of myself. The surgery will be a pain, but should help me to feel better by the end of the month.  My plan is to avoid stress at the day job, which can be quantified by working fewer hours. I refuse to be stressed by the day job, to the intense irritation of some of my colleagues.

Please go visit and encourage the other ROWers, whom you can find here.
smaller EM

2 thoughts on “Gratitude and RoW80 check-in”

  1. Grouse all you want Elizabeth. Water leaks are the pits. So glad you found the root of the problem and it is fixed. Don’t beat yourself up about not meeting some of your goals. That little fix-it would have thrown anyone off. Just let me wish you all the best with your upcoming surgery next week. I hope all goes well and that your recovery is peaceful and quick. Take care my friend. ((Hugs))

  2. Kudos on your progress! I love that concise and clear reporting — and colorful! I hope the surgery goes well as does the stress management at work, for achieving these goals will help with the writing. Interesting to balance non-fiction with fiction projects, especially if they’re connected. I think about working on two writing projects at the same time and just can not do it. Your bathroom jaunts reminded me of staying at my MIL’s with 8 adults and 1 bathroom. Oh, to be truly grateful requires only one such experience.

Please leave a reply

