ROW80

Gratitude for shelter and RoW80 check-in

This past Tuesday,  i walked a bit over a mile through midtown Manhattan,  on a very cold day. As is often the case,  I saw several homeless people on the way.  I always thought about the homeless as I passed them,  but I have focused more on them since two months ago,  when I noticed a man stopping to talk with a man seated near the front door of an office building.  I thought he was going to give the homeless man money, but he had a bag from a fast food restaurant that he gave him, telling him to enjoy his lunch.  I think about doing something like that,  but haven’t yet overcome my shyness or some other odd resistance.

I thought about all the homeless people I saw huddled against the buildings last week, and wondered  how they got through the snowstorm this weekend. I feel for all the people in southern states without power from the storm,  but these homeless people are always without power, in so many senses of the word.

In a recent check-in, I complained about the house we are renting, which has many of the problems one would expect in a house built in 1920 that has been a rental for several decades. However, I am grateful for having a house where I can shelter from the cold and wind, store warm clothing to combat the cold when I have to go outdoors, and refrigerate food and cook it.  It is easy to forget that not everyone has that shelter.

ROW80 check-in

Read Story Engineering more carefully, taking notes, for three hours a week. I’m having a real problem with this goal.  I think I’m going to have to schedule it in order to give it some priority. It may be something I can do on breaks at the day job.

I plan to work on a non-fiction project  for a half an hour 6 out of 7 days. I’m still stalled on this goal as well.  Again,  I think I need to schedule time,  with alarm bells and all other accoutrements,  to achieve this goal.

I am going to write a short story for submission to a contest.  I have finished the plot, but not the outline.

I plan to return to blogging, posting every check-in for a start.  I would like to expand my topics, but I need to re-establish the habit first.  I missed Wednesday’s check-in, but did put up a post on my Elizabeth Anne Mitchell blog. It was on the history of profanity, which has been a popular topic on another of my blogs.

Finally, I need to continue to take care of myself. I had my follow-up with my surgeon last Tuesday. Although changing the bandaging was painful,  preliminary tests still indicate the surgery was successful.  I returned  to the day job last Thursday, and managed to take care of myself there.  

Please go visit and encourage the other ROWers, whom you can find here.

smaller EM

 

4 thoughts on “Gratitude for shelter and RoW80 check-in”

  1. Yes, sometimes we take for granted what we have. I can’t even imagine being homeless out in the cold like that.

    Nice work on your goals. I do find scheduling stuff a bit easier as it’s more concrete in my mind.

  2. I was out in the cold the other day and feeling a little short of food popped over to a cafe near the bus station to grab a sandwich (because I could) and discovered they had a scheme for buying a meal for a homeless person – I didn’t know – so because I too haven’t overcome initial odd resistance to approaching – so now I know where I can go to give someone, who’s homeless, a hot meal – maybe it is not as good as talking to them as well but it is cold out there.

    keep taking care of yourself 🙂

  3. I am so happy to hear that things went well with your surgery and that you’re making a swift recovery. I do not live on the east coast, yet here in Phoenix there is a horrible problem with the homeless. It is very sad indeed to see so many without a roof over their heads. Especially with all the freezing weather. My heart goes out to these people because most of them want to work but still cannot find jobs. Or they’re disabled in one way or another. That was a very kind gesture that man made. Don’t beat yourself up Elizabeth. Approaching a stranger is very difficult. Take baby steps while you recover and come tag me if you need a partner for a word sprint. ((Hugs))

  4. Sometimes when we set a goal and resist those steps that take us closer, the goal itself needs to be re-examined. Maybe those goals you’re not getting around to need to be totally reworked, replaced, and thrown into the pending file — replaced by something that warms your creativity and your heart.

    I only say this because I have a few goals that just lay there on the page, awaiting my attention. Sometimes work is work; it justifies the effort. Sometimes, what we gain from digging into a task that keeps repelling us, more than rewards the effort. And sometimes . . . . just let go!

    Sounds like you are busy taking care of yourself (yes!), working, and thinking about others. Maybe there’s another way to reach out to the homeless other than direct, personal contact. Food bank? Soup kitchen? Sometimes a donation, even a small one, can make a difference. May you have a good week.

Please leave a reply

