Posted by: Elizabeth Anne Mitchell | June 8, 2016

RoW80 and WIPpet Wednesday Still Writing

Where the magic happens

Writing Desk

RoW80

It is Wednesday, and therefore time for a RoW80 update. Life continues to be crazy, but also provides an object lesson.  For years, I would have said that a crazy time like now would make it impossible for me to write–clearly I had too much on my plate.  This year, after being reminded by this post, I realized that I chose all sorts of tasks in the past that made excuses for my not writing, when  I could have chosen writing.  Am I perfect and writing 10K a day?  Far from it, but I am writing at least 5 days out of 7, slowly and in little pieces, keeping the well primed.  I can also recommend inner dialogues with one’s characters while packing dishes, clearly a task from some lower circle of hell.

There are a few blog posts in that paragraph, but I will write those a bit later. Please go encourage the other RoWers, who are sliding into the home stretch here.  What is RoW80, you ask?  It is an accountability group, with flexible goals and good companions.  If you’re interested, check it out here.

WIPpet Wednesday

My contribution to WIPpet Wednesday follows immediately after last week’s cliffhanger.  Yes, I was evil. My math is 6+8=14, so 14 sentences.

“That I’m falling in love with you.”

Over the pounding of my heartbeat in my ears, I said, “I loved you before you even looked my way.  Marry me.”  Those last two words were unexpected, but now that I heard them, I would never take them back. Helen’s face stilled. Her body froze.  I prepared myself for her rejection and perhaps even her anger.

“I don’t know.  Let me think about it.”

Well, she hadn’t handed me my head, but the axe had certainly nicked me.  Even while telling myself that she hadn’t gotten mad, or turned me down flat, I felt my heart shrink from the hurt.  I couldn’t hide my disappointment from her, either. It mattered too damn much.

Helen smiled wistfully,  saying softly,  “I’m sorry. “

Want to read other works-in-progress?  Want to share snippets of your work?  WIPpet Wednesday is hosted by Emily Witt here. Check out the other offerings, or add your own.

smaller EM

 

Responses

  1. You know, after reading this on the blog (and remembering how it looked on paper), I wonder if there isn’t another tweak to make… Switch “of my heart(beat)” and “in my ears”.

    What do you think?

    And thanks for the shout-out. I feel really awkward about constantly mentioning it, but… it feels SO true lately. I love things like the JuNoWriMo and Camp and all that stuff, but really… it’s the Five Sentences that make me a writer, because I do it pretty much every day.

    (That’s my story, and I’m sticking to it.)

    • I’ll have to read it through again, Eden, but I think you might be right. The cadence isn’t right, yet–that much I know.

      As for the Five Sentences, feel free to mention them as often as you like. I can attest to writing everyday being what makes a writer, more than anything else.

  2. Wow. There are some powerful emotions swirling in that excerpt. Well done.

    One of the hardest things about the writing life can be the seemingly simple task of carving out time for writing. I’ve found the best time for me is the middle of the night, when the rest of the world is asleep. By that time of day, I’m out of excuses. There’s nothing else I “should” be doing. I’m glad you’re finding space in your life for your writing. It doesn’t have to be 10K a day. Every bit helps. Good luck!

    • Thank you, Denise. Yes, my poor MCs–trying to find their way to one another, when I just won’t let it be easy!

      I know several people who write in the middle of the night, like you. It’s the same principle, but I have to get up early. The half-dream state helps my creativity, but it is quiet and still, with most of the world asleep. I mentioned the 10K because that is a bad side-effect of being in a NaNo–all the people posting huge word counts sometimes get to me. I know logically that it all adds up, really I do. Thanks for the encouragement!

  3. This is a really emotional bit. Sounds like there’s a lot going on between these two that needs to be resolved.

    • Thanks, Amy. Yeah, these two are going to have to sit down and talk–and neither of them want to!

  4. It is true that we need to find the time to write and make that a commitment, no matter how crazy life gets. Unfortunately, my life is even crazier than that and it is tough carving out the time.

    • I’ve had those times, Chris, when you just have to weather the life storm. I hope things ease for you soon!

  5. Definitely an emotional snippet.

    If a 10k day is what makes one “perfect”, I’m certainly not that either. 🙂 You do what you can when you can. It’s really all any of us can do.

    • Thanks, Fallon! I have to stop letting the word count posts get to me–it’s a failing that I struggle with each and every NaNo project I do. I’m 4K further than I was May 31st, and that’s an accomplishment!

  6. I like the wipet! Now I want to read more. I think you’re doing amazing for all the chaos going on. 10,000 words per day? Really? Wow. 🙂

    • Thank you, Karen. I appreciate the support. As for 10K a day, there are people out there doing that, but I really do know that I’m doing okay in my rational moments. You are burning up the WIP yourself–good for you!


Please leave a reply

Categories

