ROW80

RoW80 Better Than Expected

How is it Sunday already??  I will amend the adage of “Time flies when you’re having fun,” because I’m not having fun, but it’s flying anyway.  Several good things have been happening, to be honest, though.  My prediction that the rental house I’m inhabiting (and was told to keep ready to show against my inclination) is massively overpriced is proving true.  It has been on the market a week tomorrow, and only one person has wanted to see it. Even if interest picks up, I am holding to my insistence that there will be boxes everywhere.

Also, packing is going pretty well.  There is rampant grouchiness among the denizens of Testosterone Palace, but it is understandable.  Husband and I have to go to a conference for several days the third week of June, returning one day before the putative closing, so everything has to be packed beforehand.  That means we all have to live out of suitcases sooner than we wish, and for longer than we would like; even worse, our sons don’t get to go anywhere to enjoy the inconvenience.

As for writing, it goes well, too.  I’m a JuNoWriMo rebel, and had planned only 5K for the month, because of the craziness of life.  I’m at 3551 at the moment, which makes me very happy, as long as I don’t fall into the trap of comparing word counts. I can easily get depressed if I let myself, so I have to make sure I concentrate on the positive. Also, I’ve had to do a lot of editing this past week, which makes me think that I should just be an editor, and not a writer.  I have to remind myself that I can do both.

Please go encourage the other RoWers, who are entering the last couple of weeks of the challenge, here.  What is RoW80, you ask?  It is an accountability group, with flexible goals and good companions.  If you’re interested, check it out here.

smaller EM

 

12 thoughts on “RoW80 Better Than Expected”

  1. You can do both, and do them well.

    As for your rental home… Keep in mind also that you’re trying to rent during a hard time (your agent SHOULD know this, so it’s more on them than anything). Everyone in a college town is trying to change and get our of rentals in June! When we lived in Albany apartments, we never looked for a new place around now–they’re always over-priced.

    Unless your rental agreement says you have to be out by the 30th though, I wouldn’t rush for them just so they can ‘show’ the place. Since you’re moving into a place you’ve bought… well, there ARE things you can do. Depends on how much noise you want to make (me, I’d probably make a big one, but then you know how I get)

    1. Thanks for the encouragement, Eden. And yes, I can be a right pain myself, but the hubs is worried because we still don’t have a closing date. The attorney’s office emailed today to say that our title is the next one to be written, so that is a little positive news. We are leaving for the better part of a week next Wednesday, so it is nailbiting not to know whether we will need to pay the whole of July rent or not. We don’t even know if the landlord will prorate a week or not. Sigh.

      1. I doubt, given what your landlord is doing, that they’ll prorate a week. But it doesn’t hurt to try and ask.

        Very odd it’s taking so long to close. I wonder why. Well, I guess it depends on the office…

  2. Hi Elizabeth, I lived out of boxes for a month, packing to move between States and trying to get everything done so there was no last minute packing. I know how frustrating it can be. Though it’s awesome to see your determination despite all that.

    I hope all goes smoothly for you.

    HUGE hugs!

  3. Moving is this crazy mixture of stressful (ugh!) and the excitement of settling into a new place (yay!). Sounds like you’re mostly in the stressful part of things. Are you buying or renting your new place?

    Good luck with everything!

    1. Yes, solidly in the stressful part, Denise. We are buying a house, after renting for four years here, so it is definitely exciting. We will have more room–even an office for me (yay!) Thank you for your good wishes!

      1. Yeah. We bought a place last year and are really enjoying being homeowners. We were also long-term renters (eight years in our apartment!) and, as stressful as moving and buying can be, it’s worth it to own your own place. And congrats on getting your own office. 🙂 Best of luck!

  4. What are you talking about? With everything going on in your universe, your word count is spectacular! You are doing so well Elizabeth. Even with the thought of living out of a suit case for a while has not gotten your down. Keep it up! Before you know it, just like speed of each passing week, you will be past all of this inconvenience and settle in your new place. Enjoy the conference! ((Hugs)) 🙂

Please leave a reply

