Posted by: Elizabeth Anne Mitchell | August 10, 2016

Back from the tired

A rare Wednesday check-in from me, totally due to meeting Eden who (kindly) informed me I was going to write and post tonight.  I needed that accountability, and here I am.

RoW80

Until today, I hadn’t written anything outside of the day job.  I have been exhausted and needing to fill the well for over a month.  I now understand on a cellular level that good stress is as debilitating as bad stress, because moving into this lovely new house and neighborhood has beaten me to a pulp. I come home from the day job exhausted, and do nothing but play computer games and read.  

The good part?  I do spend a lot of weekend time going through boxes in the garage.  It will be a nice, efficient, welcoming house when I am done. The bad part? I’m not writing. I have yet to find the correct configuration for my office that allows me to retreat without guilt. It doesn’t help that it has been one of the hottest few weeks I’ve weathered here in the past four years. I wake up thinking I’m back in north central Florida.  Well, I’m tough, and I will persevere!

Please visit the other RoWers here if you have a chance–the accountability is a key piece of the challenge. If you are interested in joining the RoW80 challenge, this FAQ will give you all the details. Feel free to jump in anytime.

WIPpet Wednesday 

After a long absence, Eden made me write this scene this afternoon (thank you, Eden).  I added the 8 + 10 + 2 +1 + 6 for 27 sentences, and one more that had to be there for sense.

 

Carol leaned across the table. “So, how are things with Johnny?”

Linda sighed. “Even from across the room, he’s cute. Strong and silent.  Just my type.” She smiled at Helen.  “So, give! When is his platoon coming back?”

Helen sighed as well, not wanting to talk about it. “It’s called a flight in the Army Air Forces.”

“You say tom-ah-to, I say, well, to-mah-to.  When are you going to see him?”

“I’m not sure I’m going to see him again.”

“What?” Carol gaped at her.

Linda asked, “Did he dump you?”

“No, things were just going a bit fast.”

“I like fast.” Carol grinned.

Linda swatted her arm. “This isn’t about you.” Turning to Helen, she asked, “Did he pull that ‘I could die tomorrow, so sleep with me tonight’?”

Helen shook her head. “No, nothing like that. He was just getting too serious.”

Carol asked, “But isn’t serious good?”

Linda laid her hand on Carol’s arm. “Not always.”


WIPpet Wednesday is a blog hop where writers share part of their WIP here. The only requirement is that the length have something to do with the date, hence the maths above.  Feel free to read, comment, or join in!

smaller EM

Responses

  1. I knew asking you to break away and write was a good idea, good for you, good for your soul and… well, just generally something “different”. Though… you made the right choice about the concert–they called it for kids of all ages, but All Ages seems to have meant 1-5 . *shakes head* At least the Boodle had fun doing a library visit (he loves library visits), and we had a nice dinner out together after.

    Hope your dinner went well! Some nourishment for the soul as well as the body… And, I totally hear you on good stress as well as bad, though… I know you’ve had more than your fair share of bad stress these past few years too.

  2. I like the lines, “But Isn’t serious good?”
    Not always.
    Very nice lines.
    Happy Weekend.
    Shalom aleichem,
    Patricia

  3. Maybe I need someone like Eden to tell me to post too. lol. And Elizabeth, don’t beat yourself up girl. Moving is stressful enough. Then add in the day job, unboxing, getting settled in, nesting. Give yourself time to catch your breath and just be. The writing will come, I promise. Take care of you! ((Hugs))


Please leave a reply

Categories

