ROW80

Week Three–Digging In

It was a meeting-rich week at the day job, and the sort of meetings that leave one absent a brain at the end of the day. At some point during the week, my husband sent me a picture of socks which said “This meeting is b***s**t.”  Later in the week, I saw a similar pair and other wonderful ones at a book/gift shop next to where Eden and I met for writing time. It is always dangerous for me to enter a bookshop, because I am so torn between getting ALL the books, and being guilty about buying any books that I cannot justify sitting down to read. I do listen to audio books, and read e-books, but I find it difficult to sit with a print book and read for pleasure.  I hope this inability passes soon, since I usually love to read physical books.

I am not in the best place with the day job right now, in that I am constantly pulled away from the work that matters to attend meetings about things that do not matter. The good thing is that my muse sometimes performs well under stress. Thus I am at times madly writing in my head, jotting down a phrase or two so as not to forget what I was thinking. On the negative side, I am starting to slide back into the Slough of Despond. I plan to investigate medications and/or therapy again, to see if I can moderate the slide before it gets too entrenched. 

So, how did I do on my goals:

One blog post per week. Some weeks this will probably be my account of how I progressed on my goals, but I hope to expand to other posts. Last Friday I went back to my Lapidary Prose blog, and posted a very short piece about hope. Most of my former followers have unfollowed the blog, and I don’t blame them.  I plan to continue to post there and put the links on Facebook and Twitter, slowly building followers again. I have a Mother’s Day post written, and a Father’s Day post drafted.

Five sentences of fiction every day. More will be cherished and coddled, but five is required. My return to the day job disrupted my daily writing routines, but I am slowly getting it back. Thursday I met Eden after work, and ironed out more details about my hero and heroine in the World War II novella, figuring out where and how they might have met, and further details about their backgrounds. I’m still struggling to find a good time to work on the daily writing. After brainstorming with the husband, I am going to try a different approach and write in the mornings before the day job.  I’ll report on my progress next week.

Half an hour of editing the non-fiction book every day. Yes, it’s not always pretty or fun, but necessary. This editing did not happen every day, which was disheartening.  I had planned to do it during lunch break at the day job, but I sometimes get pulled into meetings so that I don’t get a lunch break.  I am involved with an academic writing group that keeps me somewhat on task for that sphere of writing, but we are on a break right now, and I don’t have the incentive to keep up as much as I do when we are reporting every week. 

Have a great, fruitful week, everyone!

 

 

6 thoughts on “Week Three–Digging In”

  1. Maybe the goal of doing anything every day is a bit self-sabotaging? It has been for me – I feel guilty for not doing it all, all the time, no matter what else was going on.

    If the goal was four days a week, two could be on weekends, maybe, and three workdays could be spared if need be.

    Or it could go by sessions, where you’re trying to get a quota for a week. If you had time for two sessions one day, that would help with the rest of the week.

    I’m starting to realize that Scotty’s knack of multiplying all ship repair estimates by a factor of four might be a good way to approach goal-setting! =)

    I hope you do seek some help to prevent that slide, or at least slow it down till you can get your feet back under you!

    1. Thanks for the suggestions about changing the goals. It is very easy for me to feel guilty about not writing, and I don’t want to infect something I enjoy with guilt. I do like the multiplication factor, as well!

      I am gong to pursue help on the slide. I can’t let it go too long, or I slip into a trough that is very hard to get out of. Thanks for the support. 🙂

  2. Would you like a cheery virtual coffee??? I love the clarity and honesty of those goals and hope (as you move forward) that the smaller steps lead to a steadier sense of progress in the writing — and all else. I do like the anchor of a schedule that works pretty much the same every day. That’s not to say I work on the same thing every day, but tracking progress with ROW80 can help by just laying out those goals quite visibly. I surprise myself by what comes along as I try new things — and learn from others on the same writing path. You won’t be losing me as a follower! Have a very good week.

Please leave a reply

