ROW80

Week Five — Decluttering and Thinking

How are we halfway through this Round?? I find it hard to believe how quickly time goes. It was another crazy week at the day job, so I’m still recovering from that. Also, Wednesday was tough, as it would have been my brother’s 69th birthday. Even so, I did make some progress, so I am feeling good about that.  I also saw my doctor on Thursday. She was delighted that my calcium and Vitamin D was normal, for the first time in the three years I’ve been seeing her. And, she was happy that my recent breaks did not require surgery, which echoed my relief.

Yesterday was a day of attacking the boxes in the garage. It felt good to get some of the stuff out of the way, to declutter by recycling and tossing.  We had enough recycling to have to fill the car with cardboard and head out to the local recycling center. We cleared enough space to put up the bike racks in the garage, to Son Number Two’s delight. I found some books that have been long buried, but best of all, I found the Claddagh door knocker that my parents brought back from Ireland for me.

On to my goals:

One blog post per week. Last Thursday, I posted the history of the word husband on Lapidary Prose, as well as a funny dog video on Friday. I’m starting to get back into the swing of posting.

Five sentences of fiction every day. Lots of research, which led to five sentences, but not directly writing.  Still progress, however.

Half an hour of editing the non-fiction book every day. This goal is evading me every week.  I need to think about whether to, and how to change it.

I hope all of you are enjoying the spring, or the coming of spring.  I plan to go take pictures of the flowering trees in the neighborhood today.  Have fun this week!

 

 

6 thoughts on “Week Five — Decluttering and Thinking”

  1. Those birthday can be hard. Wednesday also would have been my father-in-law’s 64th birthday. On my son’s birthday(9/3), he’ll have been gone for 11 years.

    Glad you could make good progress this week and sounds like a good report from the doctor. Good luck this week.

    1. Thanks, Fallon. Yes, I find the birthdays as hard as the anniversaries of their passing. Mother’s and Father’s Day are hard as well. Thanks for the good luck wishes–so far, things are going well!

  2. A good week! I tend to let revision goals go first, too…because revision is still what’s hardest for me.

    The trees are rather spectacular, and I’m so happy you found the claddagh knocker – it sounds lovely!

    It must be the week for spring cleaning – Jeremiah is deep cleaning his bedroom for the first time in years. He decided to start yesterday, and has already put in several hours and slated a lot of his younger-boy things for donation.

    1. Thanks, Shan. Revision is definitely still hard, so it does get pushed to the back of the plate. I’ll have to post a picture of the Claddagh knocker–it is gorgeous! My spring cleaning has slowed this week with its return to late March weather–that wind! that chill! But I will get back to it at some point–the freedom is exhilarating. Good for Miah for donating things-a very grown-up thing to do.

  3. Hey! I made it for week 5! I’ve been packing and moving girl. But I just had to pop in and say “Hi!” Glad you’re making good progress. Keep it up! I know how hard it is. I’ve been on a writing hiatus myself lately. I hate it, but there’s only so much of me to go around. I am hoping that will change soon. Take care!! ((Hugs))

    1. Hugs back at you, Karen! Where are you moving? Closer to the beach you love? I’ll send positive vibes for packing and moving–I dislike it myself! Here’s hoping you get settled and can reclaim a piece of ourself to return to writing, I miss your blog posts, and your pelican!

Please leave a reply

