Posted by: Elizabeth Anne Mitchell | May 14, 2017

Week Six — Rocks and Flowers

My week was somewhat disjointed, in that I went to a conference in Burlington, Vermont, on Thursday and Friday. It is nice to travel shortish distances to these things, so that one can enjoy the landscape on the way. It was Commencement weekend at the University of Vermont, where the conference was held, so we stayed in Stowe, Vermont, a 45-minute drive away. Burlington is a very nice small town, with lots of local shops and restaurants right downtown.  It is on the shores of Lake Champlain, and one can see the Adirondacks across the water in upstate New York.  

Stowe, a small village that I’m sure balloons in population during ski season, is on the flanks of Mount Mansfield, the tallest mountain in Vermont, topping out at 4,393 feet. It was nice to be there during spring, with verdant fields and rhododendrons bursting with blooms. We were lucky that the forecast rain did not show up until this morning as we were leaving, so we did a fair amount of exploring yesterday.

Rhododendron in Stowe, VT

Boulder very near road on Mount Mansfield, VT

Time away from a routine is also very clarifying for me. I have been thinking about the rounds when I have had health and wellness goals, and I think the holistic approach is good for me. I will give my revised goals at the end of the post, but first, how did I do on my goals this past week?

One blog post per week. Last Tuesday, I posted a music video, and today a Mother’s Day tribute, both on Elizabeth Anne Mitchell.

Five sentences of fiction every day. Yes, but just barely.

Half an hour of editing the non-fiction book every day. No, so it is definitely  time for a change.

New Goals:

Writing:

Two blog posts per week–Sunday check-in and one other.

Five sentences of fiction per day.

Editing one page per day.

 

Wellness:

Walk ten minutes per day.

Hydrate and keep track of it.

Balance exercises every morning.

 

Planning:

Plan every day the evening before, and schedule time for all the above.

 

Happy Mother’s Day to all the moms out there, and Happy Day to all of us children.

 

Responses

  1. Those weekly goals that are achievable motivate me. Yet each week, a few goals seem to sneak it that make my progress seem insurmountable. Even small steps forward move us towards our goals. As they say, perseverance furthers. Good to have that reflective time. I appreciate the balance in your goals.

  2. Hooray for adapting your goals, and for seeing a rhody so overflowing with blooms. Miah and I attended the Albany Tulip Festival on Friday – so many lovelies!


Please leave a reply

Categories

