ROW80

Round Four, Week Three — More Ideas Than Time

Autumn has remained in our neighborhood far longer than usual, with many trees still in full leaf. Unfortunately, rain and winds are forecast for tomorrow, so autumn may be on its way south. I’m a bit sad to see autumn go, but winter has its charms.

I have really fallen off the blogging wagon the past few weeks. I have swarms of ideas, but they tend to evaporate when I try to grasp them and wrestle them into words. Also, I am far too Type A for my own good, putting too much time and effort into the day job. It is crazy that I do so, because it is not neurosurgery, and no one will be harmed if I don’t do everything perfectly. Even so, it’s a hard habit to break.

Despite the pressures at work, this was a pretty good week, because I did manage to fit in some writing things. Saturday, I  went as Eden’s guest to the local chapter program of the Romance Writers of America. I have been reluctant, due to imposter syndrome, but I screwed up my courage. The program was very helpful, and all the members of the chapter were friendly, so I’m glad I finally convinced myself to go. It felt self-indulgent, but hey, it’s not as bad as chocolate, right?

So, other than falling on my face with blogging once a week, I did pretty well on my goals. I didn’t manage five pages of non-fiction, but I reworked the outline and schedule to make up for getting behind a couple of months ago. which was a necessary step to going forward. I met all my health and organizing goals as well. Of course, last night I managed to think of roughly six more projects so I need to set up folders and profiles for all of those projects as well.

Writing Goals:

Write one blog post every week. 

Write three pages of fiction every week. 

Write five pages of nonfiction every week.

Health Goals:

Walk forty minutes a day.

Use the standing desk at least three hours a day.

Keep up with medical appointments.

Organizing Goals:

Create project folders for each writing project.

Create a coloring book profile for each character in the novella.

7 thoughts on “Round Four, Week Three — More Ideas Than Time”

  1. I’m with you on seeing autumn go… though up by my house, it seemed like it murmured sweet nothings in our ears and danced away weeks ago. It was wonderful seeing all the lovely trees down by you full of colorful leaves.

    Impostor Syndrome? You definitely are NOT an impostor for the RWA crew. You’re working on a historical romance, you enjoy reading a good romance… unlike me, you have published things. No, no, no. You definitely belong there, at least as far as the numbers go. Whether you wish to be there is a different matter. Either way, I’m glad you had fun. Hopefully you got some great ideas for your writing.

    1. Well, the impostor syndrome faded pretty quickly with the friendliness of the group. The program was very helpful, and I’ve been spinning off new ideas like I haven’t done for a very long time. As to how well I liked it, I signed up for RWA national and the CR-RWA chapter yesterday.

  2. Autumn is still in full force here in Southwest Virginia, but the cold air has finally arrived. Today I sat on the patio wearing a jacket and wrapped in a blanket while the dog played in the yard (he’s rather mischievous, so leaving him out there unattended is impossible). You are right. Winter has its charms, though I grow tired of the cold quickly.

    I’m glad you went to a local chapter meeting of RWA. My nearest chapter is four hours away, so I haven’t gone in years, but I found everyone super friendly and easy to converse with. I hope you get to attend more events and strike up some friendships.

    By the way, your website/blog looks really nice. I love the look! 🙂

    1. I tend to gravitate to the fireplace in the winter, and admire the charms from that warm embrace.
      I am lucky to have the chapter nearby. Before I moved to New York, I was far from any real-life groups, so I hear you. Thank goodness for RoW80.

      Thank you for the kind words about the website. My niece did a lot of work on it last summer, and taught me a lot about keeping it up. I have a lot to live up to!

  3. I tend to gravitate to the fireplace in the winter, and admire the charms from that warm embrace.
    I am lucky to have the chapter nearby. Before I moved to New York, I was far from any real-life groups, so I hear you. Thank goodness for RoW80.

    Thank you for the kind words about the website. My niece did a lot of work on it last summer, and taught me a lot about keeping it up. I have a lot to live up to!

  4. still autumn here in my garden in UK, in fact as I walk around I view autumn, summer and spring – poor plants don’t have a clue what season it is this year – I have decided to embrace the wierd:) you have never come across as an imposter to me – winner all the time – keep smiling:)

  5. Congrats on the progress!

    It’s hard for me to find balance too. I know I need a workable schedule at some point..but that probably means leaving out some things I really want to to or cutting back on their time in order to fit everything in. Right now, I can just pretend I can fit it all in. LOL

Please leave a reply

